Recipe: Kadai chicken

Back in the early stages of planning my trip to India later, I thought it was an absolute must that I learned to love Indian curries before I go. I have always loved Thai curries, with the crisp chilli, lime, coconut and coriander flavours in their dishes. I have always been a bit more hesitant on Indian curries – I am less of a fan of creamy dishes, and I have always struggled with the spices used. 2017 is the year where that all changed – and as I’m sure many of you can appreciate, when you cook something yourself it is a lot harder not to like it! So I thought I’d try and make some Indian curries from scratch. Wish me luck! 🙂

Collect

  • 400 g chicken, preferably thigh
  • 3/4 c capsicum
  • 1 onion
  • 1 c tomatoes
  • 1 chilli
  • 1/2 t cumin
  • 1 t ginger
  • 1 t garlic
  • salt
  • 1 t garam masala
  • 1/4 c cream
  • fresh coriander

Create

  1. Heat a pan and fry the capsicum and half of the onion in the oil. Set aside.
  2. Next cook the chili, cumin, other half of the onion, ginger and garlic.
  3. Add the chicken and cover and cook so that it is almost cooked.
  4. Add garam masala.
  5. Add the tomato and cook until thick.
  6. Add the cream.
  7. Serve with coriander.

Leave a comment